Listen Live
Praise 102.5 Featured Video

Sunday Best out did itself this season. The show and its judges set out to find the best gospel talent in America from the previous seasons. Last Sunday, voting was opened to America to vote. When you take a look at Season 8, you see why many of them missed being chosen. Many of them missed  the cut because they were not good enough, some of them missed the cut because the competition was just that much better.

The Sunday Best winner receives a national recording contract, a cash prize, as well as the title of ‘Sunday Best’. They started with 10  contestants who were put through their paces with by the judges of Donnie McClurkin, Kierra Sheard and Yolanda Adams. This year the finale show was broadcast live from Atlanta. Kirk Franklin informed the viewing audience that millions voted last.

Donnie said, “This season the artist brought Jesus into this place.”

Season 2’s Clifford  Ross III  began his journey in 2010’s season 2 and admits that fear conquered him in his initial appearance to the show. This season he was at the top of his game and handled his live duet with Le’Andria Johnson by singing ‘He’ll bring You Out’. Clifford requested her personally to sing with him for his final performance.

Season 3’s Dathan Thigpen  teamed with Tye Tribett to cover  ‘You Are Everything’ was voted off the first time. They wore matching  neon tuxedos and glasses and just lit the house up dancing and singing. The highlight of the show was the lights going off and Tye and Dathan doing a choreographed dance in the dark!

Season 2’s  Zebulon Ellis  took the stage with a traditional song  in ‘How Precious’. His duet partner was Kathy Taylor. Kirk Franklin allowed Zebulon to lead worship into commercial break.

The show had great  interludes performance from Travis Greene, who performed his hit single ‘Intentional’.

Kirk Franklin debuted his new single “Wanna Be Happy”  and had the audience on their feet clapping and singing along.

The season eight all Star winner was Dathan Thigpen.  Upon winning, he immediately broke out into tears.

He will join winners who  all had  great success stories.

Take a look at the winners circle he will be joining below:

Season 1: Crystal Aikin – Verity Records Debut album “Crystal Aikin” released March 17, 2009.

Season 2: Y’anna Crawley – Imago Dei Music Group Debut album “The Promise” released August 24, 2010.

Season 3: Le’Andria Johnson – Music World Gospel Debut album “Awakening of Le’Andria Johnson” released September 6, 2011. Christmas EP “Christmas Best” released December 6, 2011. She was the first winner to receive a Grammy Award (2012, Best Gospel/Contemporary Christian Music Performance)

Season 4: Amber Bullock – Music World Gospel Debut album “So In Love” released July 10, 2012.

Season 5: Joshua Rogers Debut album “Well Done” released December 4, 2012.

Season 6: Tasha Page-Lockhart Debut single “Different” released in Mid-2014. Debut album “Here Right Now” released on August 5, 2014

Season 7: Geoffrey Goldenjust released his new album.

Did you miss any of this spectacular season:

Join our Facebook discussion.

Sunday Best Season 8 2015 All-Stars Winner Announced  was originally published on